In the Garden

for Anne

Sweetness and light and appetite
That’s what you are,
The hunger of spring, the wonder and sound
Under ice underground
Of crocus pushing through snow
You must know

I’ll sing you to knowing
In winter dark, darkness deep as my own lost soul
You are breaking through
The mad caress
Of a dragonfly wing on a rose
No one knows but you and I our bodies a secret
fiery dawn, indigo flame of the morning-glory

Be that, be who you are and in so doing
Lighten my nights
Shine, glow, glitter into song
Sing with the cricket under the sill
For me alone
For I alone have listened
Centuries long, and am listening still.

 

 

 

Have a Tao Day.

