“I Got a Coupon for a Discounted Cremation in the Mail Today”

Let me a leaf from a tree go into the earth

before the snow is deep

and my mind in dementia freezes over,

let me fall like snow to water

dissolve dissolve

leave as I could not live

my soul in the hands of love,

no regret for the ill I’ve done

and learned from

and no cemetery please,

let the sea be my grave.

Tell this to greedy Death & Company

with their discounts on cremations

their headstone coupons in the mail:

You should be ashamed

taking money

from the soon to be dead,

but they never are when it’s

any way to make a buck

in the good old USA.

The Tibetans have it right

A sky burial: put the body to use

hack it up, give it to the real vultures.

 

2010614858540
A burial master hacks a body & feeds vultures during a sky burial at Chalang Temple, Dari county, Guoluo, Tibet. Sky burials are a Buddhist practice in the Himalayan region. It is believed the spirit leaves a body at the moment of death and the body should be given to sacred vultures as a last act of charity. Photo 11 17 07. REUTERS/Stringer.

Rayn Roberts 2014

“I Got a Coupon for a Discounted Cremation in the Mail Today ” first appeared in the San Diego Poetry Annual page 106.

http://sandiegopoetryannual.com/about/

2015-16-sdpa-front-cover

One thought on ““I Got a Coupon for a Discounted Cremation in the Mail Today”

Have a Tao Day.

